BASIC PRINCIPLES

THE VALUES AND PRINCIPLES OF UDF-INKINGI

1. The rule of law

Basis for management of a city, the rule of law that our political party seeks to promote includes and promotes the principles of legality, rule of law, equality before the law. It rejects the arbitrary. In a country like Rwanda which has seen a succession of authoritarian and totalitarian regimes, the FDU-INKINGI fight for political institutions that defend the fundamental rights of the human person and based on political pluralism.

2. Equality and Freedom

Also, the UDF-INKINGI adhere wholly and perfectly to the ideals of equality and freedom which justified the struggle against racism, slavery and colonization suffered by the Black People. In particular, in a country like ours which, on the one hand, has experienced genocide and massive crimes against humanity and, on the other hand, continues to carry the stigma among its citizens, the attachment to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and other instruments on human rights ratified by Rwanda shouldn’t suffer any exception in their application. Ensuring equality before the law, equal opportunity and fundamental freedoms against the oppression from the regime must be the daily struggle of our organization.

3. Individual autonomy

It is the ability and human right to unleash creativity, to take charge and solve own problems, to identify and pursue own destiny, to decide responsibly on own actions and be accountable. Individual autonomy considers democracy as an institution for all, because as equals, people participate to the management of their society. Faced with a political culture of centralization and authoritarian which induced generalized conformism and blind obedience to authority ‘Ilivuze umwami,’ our organization recognizes as a right to resist against oppression which pushes the individual to report any State, any policy, any leader who violates the humanity of the human person and the fulfillment of citizens while exercising their rights.

4. Solidarity

Solidarity means recognizing and taking into account ongoing interdependencies that link different social classes, rich and poor, families, generations, or people to each other. Solidarity leads to social justice. We are not born with the same fortune and life does not always ensure equality of opportunity; this is the reason why our organization is fighting for fairness and advocates that each person has the right, whatever their circumstances, to a decent life based on adequate resources and their equitable distribution.

5. Right to remembrance

The Rwandan genocide and crimes against humanity committed in Rwanda left an indelible mark on people’s memory. It is a criminal offense to deny or undervalue the absolute tragedy undergone by victims and their surviving relatives. For FDU_INKINGI, they now constitute a specific category to which we must recognize a particular suffering, justice and reparation, even if it is only partially compensated for experienced prejudice. To stop such a humanitarian catastrophe from happening again in Rwanda, the UDF-Inkingi commit to defend against all odds the absolute right to life and to keep the candle lit in memory of all victims.

6. Population’s participation

Ownership and trust of citizens in democratic institutions require people to directly control and inspire actual exercise of power. It is essential that each individual at all levels of society is aware of their rights and duties. To that end, our organization commits to recognize and incorporate into the Constitution the people’s initiative as a constitutional right. This is the right given to citizens to exercise directly next to the Parliament and Government, their share of sovereignty.

7. Decentralization

Another manifestation of the success of a democracy is that decisions are taken in different spheres of local citizens so that they feel fully participating fully in public life. Decentralization is the reduction of decision-making levels within reach of the citizen in what is called the local authority level where central government agrees and provides space for the initiative and creativity of regional and municipal authorities. Decentralization will also allow free expression of some cultural identities and emancipation of economic and social dynamics.

8. Sustainable development

Our organization puts great importance to sustainable and equitable management of natural resources and environmental conservation, and rehabilitation of balance of ecosystems degraded by human activity. This means that because of our solidarity with future generations to whom we must safeguard resources for their own life, all political decisions must be subject to an assessment of their effects in the medium and long term on ecological balances, the collective good and the future of human societies, of the Rwandan society in particular.

PRINCIPES DE BASE

 

LES VALEURS ET PRINCIPES DES FDU-INKINGI

1. L’ETAT DE DROIT.

Fondement même d’une gestion de la cité, l’état de droit que notre organisation cherche à promouvoir comprend et met en avant les principes de légalité, de primauté du droit, d’égalité devant la loi. Il rejette l’arbitraire. Dans un pays comme le Rwanda qui a connu sans discontinuer des régimes autoritaires, voire autocratiques, notre organisation politique se bat pour des institutions politiques qui défendent les droits fondamentaux de la personne humaine et reposent sur le pluralisme politique.

2. L’EGALITE ET LA LIBERTE.

Aussi, adhérons-nous parfaitement aux idéaux d’égalité et de liberté qui justifièrent la lutte contre le racisme, l’esclavage et la colonisation dont a été victime le Peuple Noir. De manière particulière, dans un pays comme le nôtre qui, d’une part, a connu le racisme absolu que constituent le génocide et les crimes massifs contre l’humanité et qui, d’autre part, continue de véhiculer l’ostracisme parmi ses concitoyens, l’attachement à ses valeurs fondatrices du panafricanisme n’est plus à démontrer. Garantir l’égalité devant la loi, l’égalité de chance et les libertés fondamentales contre l’oppression du pouvoir doit être la lutte quotidienne de notre organisation.

3. L’AUTONOMIE INDIVIDUELLE.

Il s’agit de la capacité et du droit de la personne humaine à libérer la créativité, à prendre en charge ses problèmes, à déterminer et à poursuivre son destin, à décider et à répondre (responsabilité) de ses propres actes. L’autonomie individuelle fonde la démocratie comme institution de tous, car en tant qu’égaux, ils participent à la gestion de la société et de la société. Face à une culture politique centralisatrice et autoritaire qui a induit le conformisme généralisé et l’obéissance aveugle au pouvoir « Ilivuze umwami », notre organisation reconnaît comme un droit la résistance contre l’oppression qui pousse l’individu à dénoncer tout Etat, toute politique, tout souverain qui porte atteinte à l’humanité de la personne humaine, une humanité fondatrice de la citoyenneté.

4. LA SOLIDARITE.

La solidarité implique la reconnaissance et la prise en compte permanente des interdépendances qui lient les différentes catégories sociales, les riches et les pauvres, les familles, les générations, voire les personnes entre elles. La solidarité induit la justice sociale. Nous ne naissons pas avec la même fortune et la vie ne nous assure pas toujours l’égalité des chances, notre organisation se bat pour cette égalité et dit que chaque personne humaine a droit, quelles que soient les circonstances, à une vie décente fondée sur des ressources suffisantes et sur leur répartition équitable. La solidarité est incompatible avec le racisme, l’ethnisme et le rejet des minorités.

5. LE DEVOIR DE MEMOIRE.

Le génocide et les crimes contre l’humanité ainsi que la violence inouïe qui ont été commis au Rwanda ont laissé des traces indélébiles dans la mémoire des gens. Il est criminel de nier ou de relativiser le drame absolu qu’ont subi les victimes et leurs parents survivants. Ces victimes ou leurs parents constituent désormais une catégorie spécifique à laquelle il faut reconnaître la souffrance particulière, rendre justice et réparer, même si ce ne sera que partiel, le préjudice subi. Pour que pareille catastrophe humanitaire ne se reproduise plus chez nous, notre organisation s’engage à défendre contre vents et marées le droit absolu à la vie et à garder allumée la bougie à la mémoire des victimes.

6. LA PARTICIPATION POPULAIRE.

L’appropriation et la mise en confiance des citoyens dans les institutions exigent que les citoyens contrôlent directement et inspirent effectivement l’exercice du pouvoir. Il est indispensable que chaque individu, à tous les niveaux de la société, prenne conscience de ses droits et de ses devoirs. Pour ce faire, notre organisation s’engage à faire reconnaître et à introduire dans la Constitution l’initiative populaire comme un droit constitutionnel. Il s’agit de la faculté donnée aux citoyens d’exercer directement, à côté du parlement et du gouvernement, leur parcelle de souveraineté.

7. LA DECENTRALISATION.

L’autre manifestation de la réussite d’une démocratie consiste en ce que les décisions soient prises au niveau des différentes sphères de proximité du citoyen pour que celui-ci se sente participer pleinement à la vie publique. La décentralisation, c’est cette multiplication des instances de décision à portée du citoyen dans ce qui est appelé le pouvoir local où le niveau national accepte et laisse le libre champ à la créativité du pouvoir local. La décentralisation permettrait l’expression libre de certains particularismes culturels et l’émancipation des dynamiques économiques et sociales.

8. DEVELOPPEMENT DURABLE.

Notre organisation attache beaucoup d’importance à la gestion durable et équitable des ressources naturelles et à la conservation de l’environnement, ainsi qu’à la réhabilitation des équilibres des écosystèmes dégradés par l’activité humaine. C’est dire que, parce que solidaires avec les générations futures à qui nous devons laisser des ressources pour leur propre vie, toute décision politique doit être soumise à une évaluation de ses effets à moyen et à long terme sur les équilibres écologiques et sur l’avenir des sociétés humaines, de la société rwandaise en particulier.